top of page

I Walk

I walk

Empty faces

frozen in place

Dead eyes

follow me in my path

Their skin

sprinkle into the wind

like the petals

of an apple blossom

They scream

their muted protest

Their naked hatred

towards us

who still wander

I walk

I leave them behind me

A city filled with

breathing hollows

A warm lick

of desert wind

dresses me

with silky dust

I bow my head

in front of

its gentle roughness

There is solace

in the pain

it carries

I walk

The footsteps dissolve

into the sea of drought

The thought comforts me

I was never here

I push against

the relentless faith

refusing to accept

what is destined

The determination

to take one more step

is all I have

I watch one boot

rush in front of

the other

I walk

because there is

nothing else

left

bottom of page